News and press releases

Shipping Company of The Year 2011

ICSW Shipping Company of the Year 2011 

14.12.2011 (Ship Management )
Wilhelmsen Ship Management is winner of the 2011 International Seafarers' Welfare Award "Shipping company of the year".

During a high profile ceremony at the International Labour Organisation (ILO) in Geneva Monday 12 December, vice president Mohile Tushar in Wilhelmsen Marine Personnel received the award on behalf of WSM and its more than 9,000 seafarers.

The ceremony, which took place on the opening night of the Maritime Labour Convention tripartite meeting, attended by a number of key figures in the industry. It is worth to note that the finalists for the award included known ship owners as BP Shipping, Kuwait Oil Tanker Company and Teekay Shipping.

In a comment Mr. Mohile stated: “We in Wilhelmsen Ship Management accept the ICSW Seafarers Welfare award with great pride and humility, and on behalf of our 9,700 seafarers that represents us on more than 400 vessels. For us the award is an acknowledgement of our work with governance, training and processes towards our seafaring community.  As a third party ship manager our most valuable asset is the people that we have in our manning pool.”

Commenting on the evening Roger Harris, ICSW Executive Director, said: “Tonight has been a real celebration of not just the winners but all those who are committed to the welfare of seafarers.  Sadly the welfare of seafarers continues to bottom of the list of priorities for some companies and ports so it is important that we come together to celebrate the work that is setting the standards that others can aspire to.  I would like to congratulate our winners, thank the ILO for hosting us and all of our sponsors for their financial support but most of all I would like to thank all of the seafarers from around the world who continue to work in challenging environments to keep the global economy moving.”

This year’s judges were Mr Spyros M Polemis, President of the International Shipping Federation, Mr David Cockcroft, General Secretary of the International Transport Workers' Federation, Mr Michael Grey MBE, the distinguished maritime journalist & ex-editor of Lloyds List and Mr Douglas Stevenson, Chairman of the International Christian Maritime Association.

Other supporters of this year’s awards include InterManager, International Shipping Federation, TeeKay Shipping, the ITF Seafarers’ Trust, the International Maritime Organisation, International Labour Organisation, the International Shipping Federation, the International Transport Workers’ Federation and the International Christian Maritime Association.

In addition to the “Shipping company of the year” award, the following was also awarded to:

  • Port of the Year: The Port of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Seafarer Centre of the Year: Duckdalben International Seamen’s Club, Hamburg
  • Welfare Personalities of the Year: Reverend Peter Ellis of Hong Kong and Mrs Paddy Percival of Durban
  • Judge’s Special Award for Outstanding Services to Seafarers’ Welfare: Dr Suresh Idnani, India

The International Commitee on Seafarers’ Welfare (ICSW) is
an international umbrella organisation dedicated to the practical implementation of the International Labour Organisation instruments on Seafarers Welfare Convention 163 & Recommendation 173 and the Marine Labour Convention 2006.